Terrorism At Home

I have what amounts to a two-year degree in FEMA training, thanks to the State of Texas and the DSHS, who put me to work in emergency response in 2005. FEMA defines Terrorism this way:

Terrorism is the use of force or violence against persons or property in violation of the criminal laws of the United States for purposes of intimidation, coercion, or ransom.

When you start talking about throwing bricks, threatening people over the telephone, bringing coffins to Congressmen’s lawns, and cutting the propane lines at people’s houses, you’re talking about terrorism. My Congressman is raising money off his birther-bill and “Baby Killer” shouting. The GOP needs to step up and stop this before something else tragic happens.

4 responses to “Terrorism At Home

  1. grahamfirchlis

    Near as I can tell, the GOP are fanning the flames. It may be that they’ve decided to gin this all up in hopes of a crackdown, so they can claim oppression and government heavy-handedness and they’re-a’commin’-to-git-yer-guns because, well, they don’t have anything else.

    I hate to think of tis as being a real conspiracy, but it is getting harder every day to discount that possibility.

  2. blacksheepone

    heh. what the GOP forgets is that some of us Democrats are also RKBA advocates.

  3. grahamfirchlis

    Well, let’s hope it doesn’t go there. A right-winger got all belicose up in my face once, some years back at a party where we’d all had too much to drink, and told me I’d better watch my back because “conservatives” like him had all the guns while liberals like me had nothing so what would I do when he and his buddies came for me? I asked him if he knew how to make sarin or phosgene or mustard gas, because I do, and that shut him up but still an unpleasant conversation and an even more unpleasant prospect.

    Rodney King, screwed up as he was, had it right: “Why can’t we all just get along?”

  4. blacksheepone

    Can’t make sarin or phosgene or mustard gas.
    But I know what happens when you mix gasoline and Tide … or ammonia and Clorox …

Leave a Reply

