That’s One

White House Photo
Official White House photo by Pete Souza, 21 March 2010: Reaction to the House vote passing the health care bill.

Not a whole lot more to say, except that the journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.

Thank you, Mr. President.
Thank you, Rep. Clyburn.
Thank you, Speaker Pelosi.
Thank you, Rep. Hoyer.
Thank you, Rep. Lewis.

3 responses to “That’s One

  1. the journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step

    of course, the journey takes fewer steps if you go in the right direction, and i remain firmly convinced that this was 97 million steps in the wrong direction, but you knew that.

    i still love both of y’all anyway.

  2. grahamfirchlis

    This turkey was kept far too long in the oven, tough to chew and difficult to swallow. It will be quite a while before we can assess the consequences, and there will be many unpredictable effects.

    I’ll put up my own thoughts in a bit, when I get them sorted. I’m torn, in a dozen different directions. What we have here in these bills, to keep up the foodie metaphors, is what our Canadian cousins call a Dog’s Breakfast. It is a mess, definitely unappealing, but it may in the end prove nutritious enough to be worth eating – especially since there is nothing else available.

    And dear hipparchia, thanks again for stopping by. The biggest job for the Left now, IMHO, is to figure out how to reconcile ourselves and get together for the many fights just ahead, all of which will be as potentially rancorous as this one. We are a minority in the country, and we do ourselves no good by letting arguments about what are relatively small differences between us turn to hatred and self-defeating divisions.

    In spite of, actually in some ways because of, our differences, I respect and care for you immensely and deeply appreciate your caring for me – for us. I hope that affection for one another is something we can build on, to bring the Left community together. Any hope of real progress depends on our doing so.

  3. The Other Sarah

    Hipparchia,
    First let me say that I too believe that this step will need correcting.
    Second, let me say that I thank you for taking time to come by, and thank you telling us how you feel. You are someone I like and respect, and
    I am always glad to see you here.
    Finally, let me say again that while we could have done so much better than what was passed in the House last night, it is a necessary step, if we are ever to get where we need to be.
    And, I believe, for the sake of continuing to consider ourselves even remotely a civilized country, the journey must be made.
    One step at a time, eh?

    Graham:
    Dog’s breakfast, indeed; but at least you didn’t suffer having to be represented in the House, last night, by Congressman Randy “Baby Killer!” Neugebauer.

    Yes, that … that is my Congressional Representative.
    I wish I had the money to run against him.

Leave a Reply

